I’ve been busy in the kitchen this strawberry season trying to make the most of this delicious fruit while it’s here.

Every summer I make sure to make many batches of freezer jam so I can enjoy the summer flavours all year long. I have not been adventurous enough to tackle real canning, so freezer jam it is! Plus, this recipe is so easy you can whip up your own home-made jam in no time. And the best part is, it’s ready to eat immediately!

You can use any fruit with this recipe – I’ve done raspberry and peach as well and both turned out excellent.

Strawberry Freezer Jam
Makes 5 jars

4 cups washed, hulled and diced strawberries (do not puree or mash the fruit)
1½ cups sugar
1 package Club House No Cook Freezer Jam gelling powder
5 jars with a tight fitting lid (I used Bernardin freezer jars with twist lock lid -1 cup)

I like to use the Club House gelling powder as it requires less sugar than most and it’s very easy to use.

Wash your jars with hot soapy water and ensure they are rinsed well.

Wash the strawberries. I fill my sink with cold water and then add the berries. After gently moving them around to get any grit off, I gently lift them out with my fingers and transfer them to a towel where I gently pat them dry.

Hull and dice the berries to a finely chopped consistency.

Place the diced berries into a large bowl and gently stir in the sugar. Let stand for 15 minutes. The berries will release some of their juices.

After 15 minutes, slowly sprinkle the gelling powder onto the fruit mixture while stirring for 3 minutes.

Let stand for 5 minutes then gently stir again for 1 minute.

Pour the jam into the jars, leaving ½ – 1 inch headroom. Seal the jars tightly and put in the freezer.

You can store the jam in the refrigerator for use within 6 weeks or in the freezer for up to one year.

Source: Club House No Cook Freezer Jam Gelling Powder

Enjoy!

