DSC_0442

Oh my goodness…summer…you are so packed with amazing flavours! Each summer I am reminded of how thankful I am to live where live. We have some amazing produce happening right now here in Ontario. If you have not taken advantage of it you are seriously missing out!

Once again I took advantage of strawberry season to fill my freezer with homemade jam for the long winter ahead. I also used some of those glorious strawberries to make some ice cream.

This ice cream is one of my favourites. It is so very simple and so very delicious. Don’t be scared off by the inclusion of sour cream in the ice cream. Once together, the tartness of the sour cream is perfectly balanced by the sweetness of the strawberries. I always make sure a batch (or more) makes its way into my freezer each summer.

 

Strawberry Sour Cream Ice Cream

1 lb  fresh strawberries, cleaned, hulled and sliced
¾ cup sugar
1 tbsp vodka or kirsch **
1 cup sour cream
1 cup heavy cream
½ tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 cup fresh strawberries, cleaned, hulled and diced

Place the sliced strawberries, alcohol and sugar in a bowl and stir until the sugar starts to dissolve. Let berries stand at room temperature for 1 hour, stirring occasionally.

Blend the berries and their liquid together with the heavy cream, sour cream and lemon juice in either a food processor or blender until smooth. Strain through a fine mesh sieve to remove the seeds for a smoother finish.

Chill for 1 hour. Fold the diced strawberries into the chilled mixture. Freeze in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

**I used Crème de cassis as I didn’t have vodka or kirsch and I like the balance between the strawberry and black current flavours.   

Source: Adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

Enjoy!

